For July 4th: Exchanges Provide Health Care Independence

July 6, 2010

Another survey of the Extend Health retiree base shows that 67% of our Medicare enrollees feel they have health care independence. When asked to define “health care independence,” retirees’ top two responses were “I can find plans that let me go to the doctors I want to see,” and “I have choices about the health care plans I buy.” 

Another survey of the Extend Health retiree base shows that 67% of our Medicare enrollees feel they have health care independence. When asked to define “health care independence,” retirees’ top two responses were “I can find plans that let me go to the doctors I want to see,” and “I have choices about the health care plans I buy.”  The survey of 520 retirees was fielded June 25-28, a week before the Independence Day holiday, Questions and detailed results are as follows:

Do you feel you have health care independence?

Yes                                                                  67%

 No                                                                   20%

 Don’t know                                                  13% 

Which statement(s) best describes what it means to have health care independence? (Please select no more than two.)

I can find plans that let me go to the doctors I want to see                                                48%

I have choices about the health care plans I buy                                                                   43%
                                                             
I can choose how to spend the money my former employer gives me
for health care benefits                                                                                                                     37%

I can freely compare plans and prices from different health insurers                          34%

I can get the plan that is right for me at a price I can afford                                             30%                            

I can find plans that help pay for the prescription drugs I need                                     27%

I can find a plan that is right for me no matter where in the United States I live      18%    

 No answer                                                                                                                                                 4%

Leave a Reply

