CMS awarding innovation grants to 15 States

April 14, 2011

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) announced today (April 14, 2011) that they have selected 15 states to, “design new ways to meet the often complex and costly medical needs of the nation’s lowest-income and chronically ill citizens.” As discussed in an earlier post — CMS Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation — this is an example of the types of programs the CMS is trying to foster with the goal of reducing program costs while maintaining or improving the quality of care.

Funded by the Affordable Care Act, the states will receive up to $1 million to develop demonstration proposals showing how they would improve the quality, coordination and cost effectiveness of care provided to dual-eligible beneficiaries. CMS will work with the states on the models that show the most promise.

States selected: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: